To Barcelona for the weekend: Day 1

My expected trip to Barcelona for the Vampire Diaries Convention at the Barceló Hotel had arrived, I almost didn't believe it until I was getting ready early in the morning on friday May 4th :D

Although I was having a nerveous moment, I made it through...said bye to my family and headed for the direct bus into town. Made the switch in Hornstull and took the subway, then the airport coach at Cityterminalen to Arlanda Airport. The journey was so quick, I couldn't fall asleep and finally at the airport I felt liked a caged animal....all I could do was to count the hour until boarding.
Luckily I got window seat, which was cool and then had to wait like 20 minutes before departure since it were far too many planes heading out.
I had some breakfast, fell asleep, woke up from the guy next to me shaking during his sleep and suddenly we were watching the Swiss Alps...a little more further they said that we were about to land in Barcelona.
It looked so much like home, even though the language is a little different from ours. I asked for the train, took it and 20 minutes later I found the hotel at Barcelona Sants station (just next door). Checking in took a while, loads of people waiting in line....finally my turn and I got my bedroom. Third floor, room 335. Suddenly it was like going into Men in Black (the movie): same chairs in the lobby and the room numbers...my bedroom was absolutely freaking gorgeous!
My bed was so big that I could sleep either across it or on one side! I chosed to sleep on the right side ;D The view was also cool, I could see quite far :) So I unpacked some of my clothes, headed out the door to attend the registration for the convention.
Loads of people, mostly girls waiting anciously...while in line I saw someone familiar....a guy...wait a minute isn't that....OMG Ian Somerhalder!!!! He was standing there, talking to some girls and just looked so normal (compared to Damon hehe). Why was I the only one looking at him? Suddenly one of the staff asked me for my attending number which was 295, I had to wait some more in another line. I asked her why Ian was standing in line there, why no one else dared to talk to him. She just smiled and said "Oh that's not Ian, it's his official doppelganger Jamie".

What? So like in the show Elena is the doppelganger of evil vampire Katherine, Jamie is Ians....cool! I calmed my heart, how cool could it be to have a double somewhere in the world without even knowing? It's one of the worlds strange things :)
Finally my turn in line, like 45 minutes later...I received my Salvatore pass, my envelope with information and the photosessions but one was missing...the one with Ian (kind of like my reason for going). The girl who handed my envelope said that I hadn't ordered a pic with him (which I knew I had since I had the email that confirmed). So I had to speak to one of the arrangers there, she gave me the ticket to Ian's photosession without problems.
After that it was 17:15, which meant now I could do whatever I wanted since the convention didn't start until the following morning at 10 am. So I left my convention stuff in my room and headed to the train station to ask how I could travel to the Catedral de Barcelona. The information lady was nice, she showed me all the big places to visit and how I could head there =) So I bought a ticket and went to "Las Ramblas" which is like this huge street with vendors on both sides, kind of reminded me of Santiago in Chile. Old buildings, the cultural spots....wow, I miss home <3

Walked around in town, found the gigantic cathedral and saw it was cut off with metal bars. I asked a guard if the church was closed but he said that I could just go in through the little entrance on one side. There was going to be a concert at 9 pm if I wanted to stop by. My God, people are nice here!
I walked in through the side and wow, it was huge!! I took a lot of pictures (I'll show you some) and lit some candles (digital ones, which is very cool) also prayed....everything was just so great!
I continued walking, by now I think I could easily find everything in this station :) See I don't need so much time to adapt in a new town, I'm a born traveller.
My walk continued, I bought some goodies for my girls at home and then it was getting late so I headed back to the hotel. My room was kind of hot so I turned down the heat and took a long shower...it felt so great! Suddenly I realised that I hadn't eaten something since 7 pm and was in need of some iced tea, so I got dressed and went to the train station to buy some yogurt, water and some crackers. Finally in my huge bed, I gathered my evening snacks, put on a game show on tv and began my friday night all alone. I just had to call home, talk to my girls for a while before saying goodnight and getting ready to sleep.
My first day in Barcelona was officially over. Tomorrow would be a brand new day.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0